Life as a Hermit – Day 2

I wonder when I’m going to start talking to myself. Oh wait, I’ve always talked to myself. Ok, I guess when am I going to start answering? Nope, that ship has sailed as well. When will I start talking to a volleyball? Maybe that’s the line.  We’ll see.

It’s going to be hard when it’s winter and I really feel isolated, not just by geography and social withdrawal, but by the sheer difficulty of getting to people if I want to. If I need to. I suppose it’s good that I started this in the spring. Winter is still a long way away. It will be wise to plan for that, I suppose. Snowmobile maybe? I hate those things, but as practical necessity I might be able to justify it. Snowshoes, I suppose. And skis. Could I skate down the river once it freezes? I don’t think it will freeze, though. It doesn’t get quite that cold here.

What to do today. I think I’ll hike up the mountainside and gather some herbs and berries.  There are alot of bears around, I should bring bells and bearspray. That’s the problem with gathering berries. I might as well be Yogi Bear raiding the beehive. Oh well. Herbs then. But first, I will make coffee and enjoy it on the porch.

2 thoughts on “Life as a Hermit – Day 2

  1. I have just come across your blog, and I am intrigued by your venture. I don’t know if this message counts as contact that you are escaping, but just to say, wow, and I have loads of respect for you – daring to try living differently. Terrific 🙂

Leave a Reply

