Life as a hermit – Day 1

Well, here I am. My dream is finally a reality. I have a cozy, warm home surrounded by my possessions that bring me the most joy. I am miles from any other human. Just me and my dog. I can do whatever I want all day long.

I woke up this morning to the sun shining in the window onto my face.  I lay there for awhile listening to the silence. And by silence, I mean rustling leaves, birdsong and the sound of wood crackling in my wood stove.

It was a little strange not to see another human face all day, but not that strange. Even when a person is surrounded by people sometimes you go a day or two without seeing anyone.

It is social media I will be most glad to leave behind. It is a little weird to get used to. I have no internet, no data on my cell phone, and no wi fi. So my usual habit of checking Facebook and Instagram throughout the day will have to give way to other habits. Crunches and planks maybe. There wasn’t much on there that made my day better, anyway. It actually made me feel more isolated in a lot of ways. More isolated than I feel now. Isn’t that strange? Maybe it will change. We will see.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life as a hermit – Day 1

  1. Your living situation sounds like what I fantasize about for myself sometimes, but I would be worried about being off the grid. Also can relate about Facebook and Instagram… create a temporary sense of connection, but it isn’t real. My reality is being alone, except when I visit family.

Leave a Reply

